Arriving in Sydney

I took the shuttle to the Townsville airport and had some breakfast at the cafe there, then spent some time loading photos onto my computer. Finding internet access with a laptop has proved difficult on this trip. I’m not sure I’ll be bringing one in the future.

Once in Sydney, I visited a couple of hostels that were full before checking into Footprints. I still hadn’t heard from Danah (I met her in Margaret River) regarding surfing lessons, but I was determined to find a way to try it out.

operahouse.jpg

I spent the next day walking around Sydney just to get a sense of the place. The Opera house was on the list of places, as was the old section, called The Rocks. The Opera house wasn’t as big as I thought it was going to be. It was still raining, and the light wasn’t great, so I didn’t stick around long.

The next day, along my travels I stumbled onto a really interesting building. louvers.jpgOne whole side was a sheet of operable louvered windows looking out onto the Royal Botanical Garden across the street. I wandered around it, and found a courtyard complete with cafe, and granite sculpture covered by a very fluid glass canopy. The smaller front building was obviously apartments, and it looked like part of the larger one was too. I talked to the fellow at the reception desk to get some more info. Turned out it was a building done by the famous architect: Renzo Piano.

aurora.jpgThe building was the smaller half of a two building project called Aurora Place. The taller one had faces that bowed out like sails in the wind.

On my way back to the hostel I stopped at the library, where I had found free internet access for my laptop. Note to fellow travelers: For internet access, find the local library, they won’t charge you the usual arm and a leg for it.

Leave a Reply

