Australia & New Zealand Animal List

I’ve been keeping a list of the various critters I’ve seen since being on this trip. I thought I’d share that with you and add some pics as I get them. Sorry, but I don’t have species names; maybe someone can help me out with this…
(Dan? … Mika?)
Oh, and I’m not including anything seen in an aquarium or zoo; free-range only.

In no particular order:
Kookaburra
Galah
Kangaroo
Wallaby
Eagle (Wedge-Tailed I think)
Emu
Camel (the only wild camel population on earth is in Oz)
Crow (yeah, boring, but I got a good shot of one)
Australian Magpie (I think)
Rainforest Turkey (?)
Lizard (how’s that for specific?)
Rainbow Bee Eater (these were gorgeous)
Ring Necked Parrot (that’s the one in the original blog header)
Ibis
Peacock (not exactly wild, but not fenced)
Horses
Turtles
Fruit Bat (they’re huge)
Koala
Kea
Penguin (swimming off the side of the boat very briefly)
Albatross (between the two NZ Islands)

Still missing from the list:
Cassowary (well, one can hope)
Duck Billed Platypus
Crocodile
Dingo

Leave a Reply

