2 years later…

Well a lot of sh*t has happened, and a lot has stayed the same since I last posted.

Let’s talk running. Why? Because I’ve been trying to keep consistent with it recently. I looked back at the pattern of my running log, and 2019 / 2020 looked like this:

  • Consistent running in December 2018
  • Two or three runs each in:
    • January
    • February
    • March
  • No running April – July
  • 2-3 runs in August
  • 2-3 runs in September
  • No running in October
  • Wissahickon Turkey Trot in November 2019
  • Two or three runs each in:
    • January
    • February
    • March (early)
    • **Covid-19 hits, and I go into isolated lockdown for a month**
    • **I adopt a dog in mid-April**
    • May
    • June

It’s interesting that it seems that April and July are non-running months for me. July I am usually working at UNH Tech Camp, so I can understand skipping the month, but what’s up with April? Anyway…

I ran once in August, then starting the second week of September 2020, I re-committed myself to running. I had registered to run the Virtual Broad Street run, and I needed to get in shape to deal with running ten miles. I ran between five and seven days a week until the Wissahickon Turkey Trot. Then I took five days off. I got a bit worried that I was going to slip into non-running. I ran a few times each week through December.

Today I went to the track and ran a timed mile followed by 8 x 200m w/200m jog between each 200m.

I set a PR (since 2000) of 7:04 for the mile, and I was hitting my 200m paces (0:53) easily. Most of them were in the 0:45 – 0:47 range.

My goal is to run a sub- 6:00 mile by the end of 2021.

Leave a comment